Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

The Official Home of the Simpson College Storm

Storm women compete at La Crosse

Abby Loecke
Abby Loecke

ETTRICK, Wis. -- Shelby Hunemiller and Audrey Klein led the Simpson women's cross country team to a 15th place finish in a loaded field at the Jim Drews/Tori Neubauer Invitational hosted by Wis.-La Crosse on Saturday.

Simpson finished with 430 points in the field of 21 teams.

Hunemiller led the Storm for the third time in four meets this season, navigating the 6k course in 24:39.4 to place 90th in the field of 262 runners. Klein was close behind for her highest team finish of the season, taking 92nd place in 24:39.7.

Kaitlyn Murano placed 104th (24:55.5), Mackenzie Laughlin 110th (25:02.4) and Kyli Orr 175th (26:21.8). Abby Loecke made her debut in the top seven, placing 177th (26:24.0). Kaylee Willadsen also cracked the top seven for the first time, taking 181st (26:27.5).


Shelby Hunemiller — 90th, 24:39.4
Audrey Klein — 92nd, 24:39.7
Kaitlyn Murano — 104th, 24:55.5
Mackenzie Laughlin — 110th, 25:02.4
Kyli Orr — 175th, 26:21.8
Abby Loecke — 177th, 26:24.0
Kaylee Willadsen — 181st, 26:27.5


Simpson will compete in the American Rivers Conference Championship on Saturday, Oct. 27 in Lincoln, Neb.