Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

The Official Home of the Simpson College Storm

Luth named honorable mention all-conference

Luth named honorable mention all-conference

INDIANOLA, Iowa — Following a breakout 2016 season, Simpson volleyball player Jacqueline Luth earned Honorable Mention All-Iowa Conference honors, the league office announced.

2016 All-Iowa Conference Volleyball Team

A junior from Savage, Minn., Luth led Simpson with 341 kills and a .216 hitting percentage in 2016, leading the Iowa Conference with 3.75 kills per set. Her kills per set and attempts per set (10.90) were the most by a Simpson player since 2008, when the 25-point format was adopted. She had six double-doubles on the year and had at least 15 kills 11 times.

Luth landed on the all-tournament team at both the Illinois College Invitational and the Augustana Pumpkin Bash. She took home Iowa Conference Offensive Player of the Week honors for the period ending Oct. 2 after posting 27 kills -- the most in the IIAC in 2016 -- in a five-set win over Dubuque, the most kills by a Simpson player since 2003.

Luth and the Storm went 11-16 in 2016 and return five starters next season.

2016 Iowa Conference Volleyball Awards
Most Valuable Player—Aryn Jones, Wartburg
Freshman of the Year—Taylor Crandall, Nebraska Wesleyan
Coaching Staff of the Year—Luther (Danielle Lynch, head coach)

2016 All-Iowa Conference Volleyball Team
Maddie Bardole—Sr., OH, Buena Vista
Jade Schaap—Jr., OH, Buena Vista
Jenna Dille—Jr., MH, Central
Lindsey Koch—So., OH, Coe
Olivia Leisinger—Sr., MB, Coe
Karrah Davis—Jr., OH, Dubuque
Haley Bergan—Jr., L, Loras
Katie Shabatura—Jr., MB, Luther
Jamie Sindlinger—Fr., OH, Luther
Emma Veum—So., MB, Luther
Taylor Crandall—Fr., S, Nebraska Wesleyan
Malory Dahl—Sr., OH, Nebraska Wesleyan
Aryn Jones—Jr., MH, Wartburg
Kathryn Nasby—So., DS, Wartburg
Claire Willenbring—Sr., OH/DS, Wartburg

Honorable Mention
Nicole Ewoldt—Sr., DS, Central
Madi Miller—So., DS/L, Coe
Hanna Reese—Sr., S, Coe
Taylor Gaide—Jr., L, Luther
Kennedy Hegert—Sr., DS/L, Nebraska Wesleyan
Jacqueline Luth—Jr., OH, Simpson