Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

The Official Home of the Simpson College Storm

Volleyball team earns national academic award

Volleyball team earns national academic award

LEXINGTON, Ky. – For the fourth time in as many years, the Simpson volleyball team earned the American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) Team Academic Award.

Under head coach Lana Smith, the Storm posted a cumulative team grade-point average of 3.408 during the 2011-12 academic year, surpassing the 3.30 requirement. Simpson has earned the award in each of the past four seasons, adding honors in 2003-04 and 2005-06 for six total appearances on the list.

The AVCA honored a record 535 total schools in 2011-12, up from the then-record 481 schools a year ago. Fellow Iowa Conference schools Central, Coe, Dubuque and Wartburg joined Simpson on the list of 90 Division III schools selected.

Seventeen of the twenty-seven players on Simpson's roster achieved a cumulative GPA over 3.3 and another 14 were above 3.5. Two players (rising senior McKaylie Croghan and rising junior Krista Gibson) achieved a perfect 4.0 GPA during the academic year, while six players earned Academic All-Conference honors: Carissa Coopman, Gibson, Kim Rogers, Alexa Rohach, Audrey Schuttler and Kristen Watson.

Simpson went 14-18 in 2011, going 3-5 in the Iowa Conference to finish tied for sixth. The Storm return four starters and the libero from last year's squad, including honorable mention all-conference pick Steph Keller. Simpson opens the 2012 season at the St. Mary's Sugar Loaf Classic in Winona, Minn. on Aug. 31. 

Storm finish Luther Invite 3-1
September 24, 2011 Storm finish Luther Invite 3-1
Storm tripped up by Loras
September 21, 2011 Storm tripped up by Loras