Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

The Official Home of the Simpson College Storm

Cockman, Peta earn placings at Luther Open

Dalton Cockman
Dalton Cockman

DECORAH, Iowa -- The Simpson wrestling team competed in a tough field on Saturday in the Luther College Open as Dalton Cockman and Jason Peta both placed in their respective weight classes for the Storm.

Cockman started his day with a loss to Cornell's Nic Jarvis, but rebounded and won his next three matches at 165 pounds. Cockman would claim a pin, a major decision and would advance in his fourth match when his opponent suffered an injury. Cockman would come up short in his fifth match to Minnesota State's Logan Saltou. The Arlington, Tenn. native ended his day with a seventh-place performance after earning a pin in the elite bracket.

Peta began the event by scoring an 18-0 technical fall over a wrestler from Cornell. Peta would follow the same fate as his previous counterpart and suffer a loss by technical fall. The freshman would bounce back to win his next two matches and end in third place at 133 pounds in the silver bracket.

Colton Kinnison had a strong day at 285 in the silver division after losing in the opening match. Kinnison reeled off three straight victories before getting pinned by Loras' Dakoda Powell.

Sam McCoy, Caleb Bower and Jakob Slavin all garnered wins in the elite division, while McCoy record the lone pin of the trio. Noah Kirtley and Jacob Byers both had a win in the silver bracket.

Up Next
Simpson travels to Waverly, Iowa on Wednesday to face Wartburg in the first dual against an American Rivers Conference opponent this season.

MATCH REPORT – Elite Bracket
125 – Dylan McChesney, 0-2
133 – Josh Bower, 0-2
133 – Jason Padilla, 0-2
141 – Sam McCoy, 1-2
141 – Caleb Bower, 1-2
149 – Jakob Slavin, 1-2
​157 – Robert Silva, 0-2
165 – Dalton Cockman, 4-2, 7th place

MATCH REPORT – Silver Bracket
125 – Tan Duong, 0-2
133 – Jason Peta, 3-1, 3rd Place
141 – Isaac Romo, 0-2
157 – Sal Quiroz, 0-2
174 – Noah Kirtley, 1-2
197 – Jacob Byers, 1-2
197 – Shane Mathias, 0-2
285 – Adam Sepan, 0-2
285 – Colton Kinnison, 3-2