Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

The Official Home of the Simpson College Storm

Brown takes second, Storm place seventh at own invitational

Blake Bauer
Blake Bauer

INDIANOLA, Iowa -- RJ Brown had a perfect day on the way to a second-place finish, Blake Bauer added a fourth-place effort and Aiden Singleton tallied a team-best four wins as the Simpson wrestling team placed seventh of 17 teams at its own Luther Hill Invitational on Saturday.

The Storm scored 51.5 points, just behind Doane. Simpson finished second among non-scholarship programs in the the loaded field, which included 11 scholarship programs.

Team Scores

Brown went 3-0 at 165 pounds, bowing out of the championship match with a medical forfeit. He started the day with a 5-1 win over Brandon Brugos (Iowa Western), then beat Drew Sams (Graceland) 5-3, getting revenge on a loss earlier in the year. He beat Xavier Miller (Grand View) 10-5 in the semifinal, his last match of the day.

After starting the season 0-4, Brown has won 8 of 9.

Bauer went 2-2 at 157 pounds, losing in the third-place match. He started the day with a 3-1 win over Tyler Whitson (Baker) before edging Austin Morgan (Central Missouri) 2-1. He lost his last two matches of the day.

Though he didn't place, Singleton turned in a team-high four wins for the Storm. He edged Brock Sorensen (Upper Iowa (3-2) in the first round but had to bow out due to injury default in the second round. He came back with back-to-back, first-period pins over Andrew Goin (William Penn) and E'Tayvious Hentz (MacMurray). His final win came due to medical forfeit before falling to Ethan Hofacker (Augsburg) in the consolation semifinal.

Meet Report
125 — Dylan McChesney, 0-2
133 — Jason Padilla, 1-2
133 — Jacob Irwin, 1-2
157 — Blake Bauer, 2-2, 4th
165 — RJ Brown, 3-0, 2nd
174 — Damon Piatt, 2-2
184 — Shyler Langley, 0-2
197 — Tim Dendy, 0-1
285 — Aiden Singleton, 4-2 (2 pins)
285 — Dylan Giles, 1-2
285 — Sam Mathis, 0-2

Up Next
Simpson travels to the Doane Open on Saturday, Dec. 8. Start time is set for 9 a.m. in Crete, Neb.

Scott wins title at Central
January 5, 2019 Scott wins title at Central