Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

The Official Home of the Simpson College Storm

Middle weights dominate as Storm beat St. Olaf 32-21

Noah Robinson picked up one of Simpson's three pins in a 32-21 win over St. Olaf on Tuesday, Jan. 24.
Noah Robinson picked up one of Simpson's three pins in a 32-21 win over St. Olaf on Tuesday, Jan. 24.

NORTHFIELD, Minn. — The Simpson wrestling team tallied four bonus-point wins en-route to its fifth dual victory of the season, beating St. Olaf 32-21 at the Skoglund Center on Tuesday.

Jason Kiehne, Jake Mize and Noah Robinson all collected pins and RJ Brown added a technical fall for the Storm (5-7), who closed the non-conference portion of the schedule in style. 

Only seven weights were contested on the night as the first three matches were decided by forfeit. Simpson didn't send a 125 or 133 competitor to the mat while St. Olaf was open at 141. From there the Storm won five straight to put the match away.

Simpson trailed 12-6 after the forfeits before Kiehne got things started at 149, pinning Collin LaBrosse with 34 seconds left in the first period. Kiehne -- who returned to his usual 149-pound class after wrestling 141 over the weekend -- continued his strong finish to the season, improving to 16-8 on the year while extending his winning streak to five.

Mize pinned Bryant Ridgway with just 3 seconds remaining in the second period at 165 and Robinson got the Storm's other pin, taking down Daniel Gehrz at the 4:24 mark of the 174-pound match.

Brown outscored Benjamin Keilor 18-2 for the technical fall at 174 and Jason Clark had another solid outing, earning a 7-2 decision over Mike Matheson at 157. Clark won his ninth-straight match and is now 15-6 on the year.

The Oles (1-6) won the final two matches as Sebastian Hyta edged Sam Mathis 10-8 and Troy Beaman pinned Colby Vlieger

Simpson improved to 3-0 all-time against St. Olaf, the last meeting between the two teams coming in 1991-92. 

Simpson travels to Dubuque on Saturday, Jan. 28 for a dual against the Spartans originally scheduled for Jan. 10 but postponed due to snow. Start time is set for 6 p.m.

125—Lucas Womack (STO) wins by forfeit
133—Luke Wallace (STO) wins by forfeit
141—Jacob Irwin (SIM) wins by forfeit
149—Jason Kiehne (SIM) pins Collin LaBrosse, 2:26
157—Jason Clark (SIM) dec. Mike Matheson, 7-2
165—Jake Mize (SIM) pins Bryant Ridgway, 4:57
174—RJ Brown (SIM) tech. fall Benjamin Keillor, 18-2 (6:23)
184—Noah Robinson (SIM) pins Daniel Gehrz, 4:24
197—Sebastian Hyta (STO) dec. Sam Mathis, 10-8
285—Troy Beaman (STO) pins Colby Vlieger, 1:04

Storm drop dual to Augustana
December 1, 2016 Storm drop dual to Augustana
Storm compete at Luther Open
November 12, 2016 Storm compete at Luther Open