Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

The Official Home of the Simpson College Storm

Wrestlers place 11 at Luther Hill Invitational

Wrestlers place 11 at Luther Hill Invitational

INDIANOLA, Iowa — The Simpson wrestling team sent 11 wrestlers to the podium -- including four runner-ups and a third-place finisher -- to round out a solid showing at its own Luther L. Hill Invitational on Saturday.

Eight teams and 116 wrestlers competed in the fourth annual invitational held at Cowles Fieldhouse. The tournament is named in honor of the late Luther Hill, a Simpson benefactor and wrestling enthusiast. Team scores were not kept.

Complete Brackets | Simpson Match-by-Match Results

Zach Johnston, Jason Kiehne, Austin Stotts and Colby Vlieger all took runner-up honors and Jason Clark added a third-place finish for the Storm, who registered 16 pins as a team. Clark led the way with three while Fenzl and Vlieger had two apiece.

125—Clayton Fenzl: 2-2, 4th place
125—Jacob Irwin: 2-3, 6th place
141—Zach Johnston: 3-1, 2nd place
149—Jason Kiehne: 3-1, 2nd place
149—Anthony Derrick: 0-2
157—Jason Clark: 3-1, 3rd place
165—Jake Mize: 2-2, 4th place
165—Austin Stotts: 3-1, 2nd place
174—Bailey Chyma: 1-2
174—RJ Brown: 4-2, 5th place
184—Tristan Duncan: 0-2
184—Damon Piatt: 2-2
184—Noah Robinson: 3-2, 4th place
184—Sam Mathis: 1-2
197—DeVaughn Scott: 4-2, 4th place
285—Colby Vlieger: 2-1, 2nd place

Storm drop dual to Augustana
December 1, 2016 Storm drop dual to Augustana
Storm compete at Luther Open
November 12, 2016 Storm compete at Luther Open