Storm open 2014 in Massachusetts

Storm open 2014 in Massachusetts

WILLIAMSTOWN, Mass. – The Simpson wrestling team opened the 2014 portion of its schedule in the Eastern Time Zone, wrestling well in losses to Southern Maine and host Williams.

Southern Maine pulled away from Simpson late for a 27-22 win while Williams notched a 34-11 win. Simpson was forced to forfeit both the 125 and 141 pound weights, giving both teams 12 points.

"We wrestled hard enough to win," head coach Nate Hansen said. "We put forth a lot of great individual matches, but it is very tough to beat a team when you spot them 12 points. The guys had great offense and showed we have some horses on this team."

Shane Swank and Brett Roberts were the primary thoroughbreds on Friday, winning two matches apiece to lead the Storm (1-5).

At 165 pounds, Swank pinned Southern Maine's Rob Drover in 1:53 and scored a 12-2 major decision over Kyle Gaffney of Williams. At 174, Roberts pinned Matthew Harding (Southern Maine) in 2:41 and finished the day with a 8-2 decision over Martin Strenk (Williams).

Simpson trailed 18-0 in the Southern Maine dual before rattling off four straight wins to take a 22-18 lead. Ryan Joint scored a 12-3 major over Daniel Del Gallo at 149 and Jacob Mize pinned Richard Chipman in just 39 seconds at 157 in addition to pins by Swank and Roberts.

Southern Maine was able to pull away with decisions at 184, 197 and 285 to take the win. Jonathan Deupree beat Taylor Witzel 8-2 at 184, Sean Fagan beat Jared Bevins 8-3 at 197 and Dan Suarez snuck by Colby Vlieger 2-1 at 285.

Simpson finishes its biannual trip to Williamstown tomorrow when it participates in the Williams Invitational.


Southern Maine 27, Simpson 22
125 – Khali Newbill (USM) won by forfeit
133 – Vincent Bonina (USM) pinned Sam Reichenbacker, 3:44
141 – Kevin Moore (USM) won by forfeit
149 – Ryan Join (SIM) maj. dec. Daniel Del Gallo, 12-3
157 – Jacob Mize (SIM) pinned Richard Chipman, 0:39
165 – Shane Swank (SIM) pinned Rob Drover, 1:53
174 – Brett Roberts (SIM) pinned Matthew Harding, 2:41
184 – Jonathan Deupree (USM) dec. Taylor Witzel, 8-2
197 – Sean Fagan (USM) dec. Jared Bevins, 8-3
285 – Dan Suarez (USM) dec. Colby Vlieger, 2-1

Williams 34, Simpson 11
125 – Dan Seidita (WIL) won by forfeit
133 – Dan Evangelakos (WIL) pinned Sam Reichenbacker, 2:30
141 – Carson Brooks (WIL) won by forfeit
149 – Tim Garripoli (WIL) dec. Ryan Joint, 3-1
157 – Jorge Lopez (WIL) maj. dec. Jake Mize, 25-0
165 – Shane Swank (SIM) maj. dec. Kyle Gaffney, 12-2
174 – Brett Roberts (SIM) dec. Martin Strenk, 8-2
184 – Taylor Witzel (SIM) maj. dec. Dan Kurnick, 8-0
197 – Anthony Brooks (WIL) pinned Taylor Witzel, 3:22
285 – Ben Wertz (WIL) sudden victory Colby Vlieger, 3-2