Simpson wrestlers place 8th at IIAC Championship

Simpson wrestlers place 8th at IIAC Championship

INDIANOLA - Senior 149-pounder Caleb Brus placed fifth and Simpson finished eighth at the 2011 Iowa Conference Wrestling Championships on Friday in Indianola.

Wartburg won its 19th straight conference tournament title with 206.5 points, followed by Coe with 147.5. Dubuque finished third (115.5), Cornell fourth (114.5), Loras fifth (92.5), Luther sixth (87.5), Central seventh (83.5), Simpson eighth (47.5) and Buena Vista ninth (46.5).

The Storm (2-13) finished last in the conference a year ago, improving one spot despite competing with only eight wrestlers.

"We have the foundation laid, we just need to get more people on board," head coach Clint Manny said. "We are looking forward to a good offseason and a bringing in a good recruiting class. Although [this year's finish] is a small improvement, it is a step in the right direction."

Brus finished his career two wins shy of 100, going 98-64 after a 2-2 showing on Friday. After a first-round loss, the fourth-seed pinned Buena Vista's Zachary Ryan in 3 minutes, 41 seconds in the consolation bracket. He lost by a 9-3 decision to third-seeded Jacob Schwebke of Cornell and won by medical forfeit in the fifth-place match.

Senior 157-pounder Calvin Barber, sophomore 165-pounder cory Stratton, freshman 184-pounder Justin Bruce and freshman 197-pounder Jared Bevins all placed seventh.

Barber closed his collegiate career with a 6-1 decision over Calvin Canales of Luther and pinned Buena Vista's Codey Schultz in the first round.

Bruce, who wrestled 165 for most of the season, drew second-seeded and eventual runner-up Seth Rehn of Coe in the second round. Bruce battled in a 5-4 loss, but responded with a 10-8, sudden victory win against Joe Klinkel of Buena Vista. He lost a second one-point decision to Greg Barner of Central (7-6) before scoring an 18-4 major decision over Tiegen Podliska of Loras in the seventh-place match.

Bevins won by fall twice on the day, taking down Stephen Liske of Loras in 3 minutes 47 seconds in the first round and pinning Central's Theron Stewart in 4 minutes 6 seconds in the seventh-place match.