Simpson set to host IIAC Wrestling Championships

Simpson set to host IIAC Wrestling Championships

IIAC Championship Preview
Championship Website

INDIANOLA – The 2011 Iowa Conference Wrestling Championships are scheduled for Friday, Feb. 25 at Simpson's Cowles Fieldhouse in Indianola.

Admission is $6 for adults and $4 for students. The varsity tournament begins 10:30 a.m., preceded by the junior varsity tournament at 8 a.m. The Grand March will begin at 6:45 p.m. with finals to follow at 7 p.m.

Iowa Public Television (IPTV) will televise the Championship finals live statewide beginning at 7:00 p.m. Friday, February 25. Tim Johnson will provide the play-by-play with legendary University of Iowa wrestling coach Dan Gable providing analysis. For local IPTV stations, visit IPTV's web site at

Arguably the top wrestling conference in the nation, this year's Iowa Conference Championships feature four teams ranked nationally by the National Wrestling Coaches Association. Defending-champion Wartburg, winner of the last 18 championships, comes into the tournament ranked No. 1 in the nation. Coe is ranked No. 5, Cornell 19th and Dubuque 26th.

This year's tournament features 21 wrestlers ranked in the top-10 in their respective weight classes, including returning national champions Clayton Rush of Coe at 125 pounds and Byron Tate of Wartburg at 197.