Wrestling team hosts 2010 Simpson Invitational

Wrestling team hosts 2010 Simpson Invitational

INDIANOLA - The Simpson wrestling team welcomed 15 teams from six states and four divisions to Cowles Fieldhouse for the annual Simpson Invitational on Saturday, Dec. 4.

Simpson placed 14th at the tournament, which featured some of the nation's best teams. Squads represented NCAA Divisions II and III, NAIA and the NJCAA, with ten schools coming into the weekend either ranked in the top-25 nationally or receiving votes in their respective divisions.

The No. 2 team in Division III, Wartburg captured the team title with 184 points. No. 4 Coe placed second with 147.5 points and Division II Central Missouri took third with 93 points.

Tournament champion at 197 pounds, Wartburg's Byron Tate earned Most Outstanding Wrestler honors at the conclusion of the invitational.

Cory Stratton turned in the most productive day for the Storm, going 3-2 at 157 pounds. After a positive decision in the first round, he dropped a close 5-2 bout against Coe's Dimitri Boyer in the second round. Stratton posted wins against Jeff Shell of Missouri Baptist and Coe's Elliot Carlson in wrestlebacks before falling to Brice Gretch of Williams.

Jared Bevins (197), Jordy Ammons (174), Tanner Erdman (174), Justin Bruce (165), Casey Young (165) and Derek Entz (141) all notched two victories. Caleb Brus (149) earned an upset win in the first round when he pinned seventh-seeded Jerod Flores (Northwestern) in 3 minutes, 15 seconds.

Simpson returns to action Wednesday when it travels to Naperville, Ill. for a double dual with Augustana (Ill.) and Knox. The dual will begin at 5 p.m.