Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

The Official Home of the Simpson College Storm

Hedrick, Haupt named to All-IIAC Women’s Basketball Team

Hedrick, Haupt named to All-IIAC Women’s Basketball Team

INDIANOLA, Iowa – Simpson women's basketball players Brittany Hedrick and MacKenzie Haupt were named to the 2014-15 All-Iowa Conference Women's Basketball Team, as voted on by the league's coaches.

Hedrick earned first team honors and Haupt was a second team pick. Hedrick was an honorable mention performer last season as Haupt takes home her first all-league accolade.

A sophomore guard from Ankeny, Iowa, Hedrick averaged 9.4 points and 2.5 assists per game. She led the team in assists and finished second with 41 3-pointers. She averaged 10.6 points and 2.5 assists in conference play, including a team-best 27 3s.

Hedrick scored in double figures 12 times and accounted for three of Simpson's highest scoring games. She scored a season-high 21 points and went 5-for-6 from beyond the arc in an IIAC Tournament loss at Coe.

A junior guard from Clarion, Iowa, Haupt had a breakout season in 2014-15. She led the team in scoring, averaging 10.5 points and 2.7 rebounds after averaging just 5.2 in her first two seasons. She put up 11.8 points and 3.1 rebounds in conference play and shot better than 40 percent from the field.

Haupt led the team in scoring seven times and reached double figures on 13 occasions. She scored a season-high 20 points against Dubuque on Feb. 11.

The Storm went 16-10 overall and 6-8 in the Iowa Conference, finishing tied for fifth. With the sixth seed in the IIAC Tournament, Simpson fell at Coe in the first round.

Iowa Conference Release

2014-15 All-IIAC Awards
Most Valuable Player – Moran Lonning, Luther
Co-Defensive Player of the Year – Moran Lonning, Luther; Lori Obendorf, Loras
Coach of the Year – Amanda Bailey, Luther

2014-15 All-IIAC First Team
Mickey Hansche (Coe), Megan Hayes (Coe), Aleena Hobbs (Coe), Jenna Kotas (Dubuque), Victoria May (Loras), Kaitlin Phillips (Loras), Meagan Koepnick (Luther), Brittany Hedrick (Simpson), Kailey Kladivo (Wartburg)

2014-15 All-IIAC Second Team
Lexi Fisher (Buena Vista), Shelby Wiederhoeft (Buena Vista), Kenzie Vander Molen (Central), Meggie Schmidt (Dubuque), Kylie Romeo (Luther), MacKenzie Haupt (Simpson), Bobbie Burrows (Wartburg)

2014-15 Honorable Mention All-IIAC
Emily Brinker (Dubuque), Kayla Springer (Dubuque), Carly Goede (Loras), Mary Brown (Wartburg)

Storm lose to Wartburg
January 31, 2015 Storm lose to Wartburg