Simpson places 17th at Drews/Neubauer Invite

Simpson places 17th at Drews/Neubauer Invite

WEST SALEM, Wis. - Competing against teams from all divisions of the NCAA, NAIA and NJCAA, the Simpson men's cross country team ran to a 17th-place finish of 28 teams at the 2010 Jim Drews/Tori Neubauer Invitational on Saturday.

Hosted by UW-La Crosse, the race featured 488 runners on the Maple Grove Golf Course. The Univeristy of Minnesota's "B" team won the invitational with 33 points, followed by No. 16 UW-Platteville (88) and No. 20 UW-La Crosse (104). Simpson had 554 points, behind UW-River Falls (496) and ahead of Gustavus Adolphus (563).

Ryan Edwardson led the Storm, placing 87th after completing the 8km course in 26:15. Michell Davis came in 128th (26:46.7), Matt Stone placed 130th (26:47.7), John Warnke placed 183rd (27:16) and Ben Duea placed 223rd (27:47).

Mitchell Hill came in 260th (28:13.9) and Alex Kenne took 284th (28:32) to round out Simpson's varsity finishers.

Simpson enjoys a week off before the Iowa Conference Championships in Dubuque on Oct. 30.