Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

The Official Home of the Simpson College Storm

DMR runs third-fastest time in school history

Tyler Combs
Tyler Combs

WAVERLY, Iowa -- The distance medley relay ran the third-fastest time in school history on Friday for the Simpson men's track and field team at the American Rivers Conference Championships.

The quartet of Tyler Combs, Jordan Coughenour, Levi Lefebure and Jonathan Facio earned a time of 10:26.13 in the distance medley relay, which placed the squad fourth, just missing out on an all-conference nod.

Elliott Meyer captured a spot in the 60-meter hurdle finals for Saturday with a seventh-place mark in the preliminary round on Friday. Meyer crossed the line in 8.56 seconds. Coughenour finished in 10th in the event.

Ryan Trainer is currently sixth in the heptathlon after four events. He finished third in the high jump, fifth in the long jump, and eighth in the 60 meters and shot put.

Caleb Striegel fell short of receiving all-conference recognition as well. Striegel earned fourth place in the shot put with a toss of 15.29 meters. Trey Thompson placed fifth in the 5,000 meters.

The 4x200-meter relay of Travis Tupper, Craig Garrison, Kirk Wicks and Troy Vittetoe received fourth place with a result of 1:30.37 to miss out by one spot for all-conference honors.

The Storm will resume competition tomorrow at 9 a.m. in Waverly, Iowa.

Meet Report
60 prelims — 13. Travis Tupper, 7.15 | 15. Carter Frick, 7.16 | 16. Craig Garrison, 7.18
5000 — 5. Trey Thompson, 15:17.99
60 hurdles prelims — 7. Elliott Meyer, 8.56 | 10. Jordan Coughenour, 8.80
Distance medley — 4. Tyler Combs, Jordan Coughenour, Levi Lefebure, Jonathan Facio, 10:26.13
4x200 relay — 4. Travis Tupper, Craig Garrison, Kirk Wicks, Troy Vittetoe, 1:30.37
Heptathlon — 6. Ryan Trainer, 2202
Long jump — 11. Carter Berkey, 6.25m | 18. Austin Greenwalt, 6.05m
Shot put — 4. Caleb Striegel, 15.29m