Storm send three events to indoor nationals

Sophomore sprinter Emmitt Wheatley
Sophomore sprinter Emmitt Wheatley

INDIANOLA, Iowa — Six student-athletes competing in three events will represent Simpson at the 2017 NCAA Division III Indoor Track and Field Championships hosted by North Central College on March 10-11. Emmitt Wheatley (200 meters), Dylan Kalinay (60 hurdles) and Chase Wetterling, Travis Tupper, Jordan Coughenour and Kirk Wicks (4x400 relay) will represent the Storm in Naperville, Ill.

Simpson is sending male qualifiers to indoor nationals for the first time since 2002 when Lucas Carder competed in the high jump. The 4x400 is the first relay Simpson has qualified for a national meet since 2003, when the the quartet of Jeromy Keehne, Eric Karr, Reid Leichty and Zach Allison qualified in the 4x400 outdoors. 

Location: Naperville, Ill. • Al B. Carius Track
Dates: Friday, March 10 - Saturday, March 11
Live Video:
Live Results:

Accepted Entries
Full Schedule of Events

Emmitt Wheatley is Simpson's top qualifier, going into the weekend seeded sixth in the 200 meters. The sophomore from Adair, Iowa qualified by running 22.02 at Grinnell's Darren Young Classic on Feb. 11. Wheatley is making his second trip to nationals, qualifying in the outdoor 100 meters in 2016.

Fresh off a conference title in the 60 hurdles, Dylan Kalinay owns the No. 8 time in the country. The junior from Toledo, Iowa qualified by running the 55 hurdles in 7.56 seconds in the finals of the IIAC Championships, converting to 8.14 in the 60 hurdles. Kalinay is making his third trip to nationals and first indoors. He has qualified for the 110 hurdles outdoors each of the last two years, earning All-America honors with an eighth-place finish in 2016.

The 4x400-meter relay squad of Chase Wetterling (So., Melcher, Iowa), Travis Tupper (Jr., Silver City, Iowa), Jordan Coughenour (Jr., Maxwell, Iowa) and Kirk Wicks (So., Pleasantville, Iowa) came through with a national-qualifying effort at the Wartburg Final Qualifier last weekend, running 3:19.16. Simpson cut more than two seconds off their IIAC Championship record time set the week before and owns the No. 10 time in the 12-team field. Senior Matt Pearson (Des Moines, Iowa) is the alternate.


1:45 pm — 60-meter hurdle prelims (Kalinay)
3:45 pm — 200-meter prelims (Wheatley)
5:00 pm — 4x400-meter relay prelims (Wetterling, Tupper, Coughenour, Wicks)

1:45 pm — 60-meter hurdles finals (Kalinay)
3:45 pm — 200-meter finals (Wheatley)
4:55 pm — 4x400-meter relay finals (Wetterling, Tupper, Coughenour, Wicks)

Eight named all-region
March 29, 2017 Eight named all-region