Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

The Official Home of the Simpson College Storm

Galbraith wins long jump on first day of IIAC Championship

Galbraith wins long jump on first day of IIAC Championship

WAVERLY, Iowa – Sarah Galbraith won the long jump and Emmitt Wheatley posted the top qualifying time in the 100-meter dash to highlight the Simpson track and field team's performance Friday at the Iowa Conference Championships.

The women's team is in sixth place of seven teams and the men are in seventh after the first full day of the outdoor championships. Wartburg leads the women's race and Central is out in front on the men's side.

The Iowa Conference Championships conclude today from Walston-Hoover Stadium in Waverly. Field events begin at 10 a.m. with running events set to start at 1:30 with 4x100-meter relay.


Despite competing in seven events on the day, including the final three events of the heptathlon, Galbraith gutted out a conference title in the long jump. She set a new personal-best by hitting the sand in 17-feet, 2-inches. She also set a personal-best in the heptathlon, scoring 4,281 points to place third.

The Storm got another big performance from Breanna Gaster, who came in third in the 3,000-meter steeplechase for the first all-conference honors of her career. She ran 11:30.42.


Wheatley ran away from the pack in his heat of the 100-meter prelims, running a new personal-best 10.68 to post the top qualifying time. He added the third-best qualifying time in the 200 meters (21.93) and placed fifth in the long jump (21-0).

Isaac Frazier had a busy day. The junior edged Wheatley in the long jump, taking fourth (21-2 1/2). He also took third in the high jump (6-5 1/2) and qualified for the finals in the 110-meter hurdles. He posted the No. 5 qualifying time in the 110-meter hurdles (15.25).

Dylan Kalinay qualified for finals in three events: the 110-meter hurdles, the 100-meter dash and the 200-meter dash. He cruised to the No. 2 qualifying time in the hurdles (14.67), posted the No. 4 time in the 100 (10.92) and the No. 6 time in the 200 (22.10).

Nick Yaeger placed fourth in the steeplechase, finishing just outside of all-conference contention in 9:36.14. 

Other top performances: Jordan Coughenour ran the second-fastest qualifying time in the 400-meter hurdles, crossing in 55.98 ... Kirk Wicks and Trevor McKee will join Coughenour in the 400 hurdle finals. Wicks ran the No. 7 qualifying time (50.05) while McKee got the eighth and final spot (57.15) ... Trey Moddelmogg set a huge personal-best in the decathlon, improving 455 points to finish with 5,168, good for seventh place.