Farrand named Track MVP, Storm place 5th

Farrand named Track MVP, Storm place 5th

DUBUQUE, Iowa – Simpson's Joe Farrand won the 5,000-meter run on Saturday and completed the double by winning the 3,000-meter run on Sunday en-route to earning Most Valuable Track Performer honors at the 2013 Iowa Conference Indoor Track and Field Championships.

The Storm finished fifth of eight teams with 80 points. Central won the meet (186), narrowly defeating Wartburg (184). Dubuque took third (107), Loras took fourth (86), Luther sixth (42), Buena Vista seventh and Coe eighth (19).

Farrand ran an 8:43.86, edging out Central's Eli Horton for the second day in a row. The sophomore became Simpson's first male athlete to win an IIAC Track and Field MVP award since Corey Carrell in 1997.

Competing in his first conference championship, Aaron Arment ran to a second-place finish in the 200 meters (22.48) and third in the 55 meters (6.55).

A day after winning the conference title in the long jump, John Cord had a near-miss in the triple jump. He went 13.8 meters to place second.

Leif Jeppson took seventh in the 800 (1:59.26), Brad Vogel came in eighth in the 55 meters (6.76) and Brice Sheeder also came in eighth in the 400 (51.19).

The team of Sheeder, Arment, Devan Quam and Anthony Burton came in fourth in the 4x400-meter relay, crossing the finish line in 3:26.81.