Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

The Official Home of the Simpson College Storm

2012 Kip Janvrin Open starts today

2012 Kip Janvrin Open starts today

INDIANOLA, Iowa – The seventh annual Kip Janvrin Open presented by Beynon began today on the campus of Simpson College.

This year's meet includes 632 participants representing 32 schools and four divisions. The event began Thursday afternoon with the discus and hammer throws and continues Friday with the remainder of the field events and throwing events. Start time is 2 p.m.

Formerly called the Simpson Twilight, the meet was renamed in 2006 to honor 1988 Simpson graduate and 2000 Olympian, Kip Janvrin. Janvrin is one of the most decorated performers in school history, winning five national championships and 12 Iowa Conference titles in his career at Simpson.

This year's event marks the first collegiate competition on Simpson's new, full-pour, 10-millimeter surface from Beynon, which was installed in the summer of 2011.

For updated heat sheets, a schedule of events and live blog information, visit the 2012 Kip Janvrin Open webpage.

4x4 team shines at Iowa
February 17, 2012 4x4 team shines at Iowa