Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

The Official Home of the Simpson College Storm

Frazier named First Team All-Region

Frazier named First Team All-Region

INDIANOLA, Iowa — Simpson senior football player Isaac Frazier earned All-West Region First Team honors after leading the Iowa Conference in sacks and tackles for loss for a second straight season. 

A senior from Marion, Iowa, Frazier was a dominant force for the Storm defense in 2016. The ultra-athletic 6-foot-4 defensive end -- who was a national qualifier in the decathlon in the spring -- had 10.5 sacks and 14 tackles for loss, leading the conference in both categories on his way to First Team All-IIAC honors.

2016 All-West Region Teams

Frazier becomes just the third First Team All-Region pick in shcool history and first since Brad Vogel landed on the team as a return specialist in 2012. He closes his career as Simpson's all-time leader in forced fumbles (8) after forcing five in 2016, tied for the fourth-most in Division III. He ranks fourth in school history with 18.5 career sacks and sixth with 25.5 tackles for loss.

All-Time Simpson All-Region Football Players

Frazier is one of just four Iowa Conference players represented on the 26-member first team, joining Coe's Trevor Heitland (RB) and Dylan Stepleton (CB) and Central's Sam Markham (WR). 

The all-region team, selected in balloting by West Region sports information directors and staff, were chosen from 260 nominations by Division III member schools. A total of 77 players were chosen. Players nominated for All-Region are eligible to be considered for All-America honors, which will be announced the evening of Dec. 16, in's pregame coverage for Stagg Bowl XLIV.

2016 All-West Region First Team
Offensive Player of the Year—Sam Riddle, QB, Linfield
Defensive Player of the Year—Michael Alada, CB, St. Thomas
Coach of the Year—Tyler Staker, Coe

First Team Offense—QB Sam Riddle, Linfield; RB Trevor Heitland, Coe; RB Joey Valdivia, Lake Forest; WR Dan Arnold, Wis.-Platteville; WR Sam Markham, Central; TE Drew Neuville, Bethel; T Will Hilbert, St. Thomas; G Kolton Koch, Monmouth; C Nate Trewyn, Wis.-Whitewater; G Stephen Nnabue, Linfield; T Tony Koepnick, Wis.-Whitewater, K Drew Pearson, Wis.-Stout, RET Alex Pasiewicz, Lake Forest

First Team Defense—DE Nathan Brinker, St. John's; DT Brandon Tamsett, Wis.-Whitewater; DT Ryan Winter, St. Thomas; DE Isaac Frazier, Simpson; LB Jack Perez, Pacific; LB Reese Dziedzic, Wis.-Oshkosh; LB Jesse Addo, St. Thomas; CB Michael Alada, St. Thomas; S Ryan Grandlic, St. Norbert; S Johnny Eagan, Wis.-Oshkosh; CB Dylan Stepleton, Coe; P Elias Deeb, Chapman; ST R.J. Pompey, Lake Forest

Football Preview Game 10: Coe
November 10, 2016 Football Preview Game 10: Coe
Football Preview: Central
November 4, 2016 Football Preview: Central
FB PREVIEW: Simpson at Dubuque
September 17, 2016 FB PREVIEW: Simpson at Dubuque