Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

The Official Home of the Simpson College Storm

Seven football players named to NFF Hampshire Honor Society

Seven football players named to NFF Hampshire Honor Society

IRVING, Texas – Simpson senior football players Brandon Abernathy, Dylan Berkey, Ethan Calvert, Grant Eller, Joe Gilson, Alex Severn and Ryan Wagers earned membership to the 2015 National Football Foundation Hampshire Honor Society, as announced by the National Football & College Hall of Fame (NFF) in April.

The membership is comprised of college football players from all divisions of play who each maintained a cumulative 3.2 GPA or better throughout their college career. A total of 817 players from 278 schools qualified for membership in the society's ninth year.

"We continue to raise the bar each year for the number of student-athletes who qualify for membership in the Hampshire Honor Society," said NFF President & CEO Steve Hatchell. "The Hampshire Honor Society plays an important role in highlighting that college football players clearly play a leadership role in the classroom as well as on the playing field. We congratulate each of these young men for their commitment to excellence."

Abernathy is a linebacker from Indianola, Iowa majoring in economics and finance with a minor in accounting. He started all 10 games for the Storm in 2014, finishing first on the team with 89 tackles. He had 39 solo tackles and one fumble recovery returned for a touchdown. At season's end he earned a spot on the First All-Iowa Conference Team and was a three-time  Iowa Conference All- Academic performer.

Berkey is a quarterback from Colfax, Iowa majoring in business management and minoring in marketing. He started eight games for the Storm in 2014, throwing for 1,396 yards- 174.5 yards per game- and eight touchdowns.

Calvert is a running back from St. Charles, Iowa majoring in history and minoring in secondary education. He appeared in all 10 games for the Storm in 2014, rushing 89 times for 438 yards. He averaged 4.9 yards per carry for five touchdowns.

Eller is a linebacker from Melbourne, Fla. majoring in criminal justice. He appeared in eight games for the Storm in 2014, making 25 tackles, nine of which were solo tackles.

Gilson is a linebacker from Prairie City, Iowa double-majoring in political science and English. He started all 10 games for the Storm in 2014, making 44 tackles, with 19 of which that were solo tackles.

Severn is a defensive lineman from Council Bluffs, Iowa majoring in applied philosophy and minoring in mathematics and political science. He started all 10 games for the Storm in 2014, making 49 tackles, with 18 solo tackles. At season's end, he earned a spot on the 2014 Capital One Academic All-America Team. Severn was also a Second Team All-IIAC pick and was a three- time IIAC All-Academic honoree.

Wagers is a defensive lineman from Redfield, Iowa majoring in exercise science and minoring in psychology and coaching. He appeared in eight games for the Storm in 2014, making 40 tackles, with 12 solo tackles. At the season's end, he earned an honorable mention selection to the 2014 All-Iowa Conference  Team.  

Qualifications for membership in the NFF Hampshire Honor Society include:

  • Being a starter or a significant contributor in one's last year of eligibility (or a senior who has declared for the NFL Draft) at an NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision, Football Championship Subdivision, Division II, Division III or an NAIA college or university;
  • Achieving a 3.2 cumulative grade point average throughout entire course of undergraduate study; and
  • Meeting all NCAA- mandated progress towards degree requirements