Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

The Official Home of the Simpson College Storm

Craig named to academic all-district team

Craig named to academic all-district team

INDIANOLA, Iowa – Simpson's Tyler Craig has been named to the Capital One Academic All-District 8 ® Baseball Team, as selected by the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA).

As a district team honoree, Craig's name advances to the Capital One Academic All-America® Team ballot, where first, second and third team All-America honors will be selected later this month.

Craig - a senior from Urbandale, Iowa, double-majoring in management and marketing - maintained a 3.46 cumulative GPA through the 2013 fall semester. He was a 2014 preseason All-American, a 2013 First Team All-Iowa Conference first baseman and earned Iowa Conference Player of the Week honors three times throughout his career.

Craig hit .327 during his senior season, leading the team in home runs (2), RBIs (29), doubles (13) and slugging (.493). He hit .316 throughout his career, finishing third in school history in doubles (38) and fifth in RBIs (105). His 13 career home runs tied for eighth in school history.

Simpson closed its season last weekend, going 2-2 at the Iowa Conference Tournament to finish the season 22-22 overall.

To be eligible for Academic All‐America® consideration, a student‐athlete must be a varsity starter or key reserve, maintain a cumulative G.P.A. of 3.30 on a scale of 4.00, have reached sophomore athletic and academic standings at his/her current institution and be nominated by his/her sports information director. Since the program's inception in 1952, CoSIDA has bestowed Academic All‐America honors on more than 20,000 student‐athletes in Divisions I, II, III and NAIA, covering all NCAA championship sports.


2014 Academic All-District 8 Baseball Team

Pos. Name School Yr.
P Ian Grigsby Buena Vista Jr.
P Dwayne Snider Texas Lutheran Sr.
C Victor Munoz Occidental Jr.
IF Johnathan Brooks Occidental Jr.
IF Tyler Craig Simpson Sr.
IF Eric Lawson Linfield So.
IF Simon Rosenbaum Pamona-Pitzer So.
IF Mark Saatzer Chapman Sr.
OF Nick Fisher Linfield Sr.
OF Pat Hirschberg Trinity (TX) Gr.
OF Neil Marshall Buena Vista So.
DH Derek Kanas Texas Lutheran Sr.
Baseball splits with AIB
April 21, 2014 Baseball splits with AIB