Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

The Official Home of the Simpson College Storm

Offense surges as Storm top Coe in IIAC Tournament

CEDAR RAPIDS, Iowa - Tyler Crandell (Ames, Iowa/Ames) hit a grand slam and collected four hits as the Simpson offense broke loose in a 14-8 Iowa Conference Tournament win against Coe on Thursday at Veterans Memorial Stadium.

Turning in the finest day of his young career, Crandell, a freshman, cleared the bases with his second home run of the season as part of a five-run seventh inning for the fifth-seeded Storm (21-16). The left fielder ended the day with four hits, adding a double as Simpson won its first IIAC Tournament game since 2007.

The No.4-seed Kohawks (24-17) looked to have the game in control after a six-run second inning made the score 6-0.

But Simpson clawed back into the game, plating a run in the third, three in the fourth and another in the fifth to pull within a run at 6-5.

In the seventh, Drew Yarkosky (Albia, Iowa/Albia) walked, Justin Svehla (Lincoln, Neb./Northeast) reached on a fielder's choice and Ethan Hale (Clive, Iowa/West Des Moines Valley) singled to load the bases for Crandell's long ball to left field. Colton Calvert (St. Charles, Iowa/I-35) scored on Hale's single earlier in the inning as Simpson held a 10-6 lead when the dust cleared.

Kyle Ruehle (Cherokee, Iowa/Washington) picked up the win in relief of starter Clint Rhodes (Legrand, Iowa/East Marshall), who surrendered six runs in 1 2/3 innings. Ruehle (5-1) stopped the bleeding, getting the final out of the second inning. He allowed two runs off three hits in all, going 5 1/3 innings.

Dave Johnson (West Des Moines, Iowa/Valley) had three hits and scored two runs and Scott Ethell (Knoxville, Iowa/Knoxville) had two hits and two RBIs for the Storm, who face No.1-seed Buena Vista at 10 a.m. Friday.

Due to inclement weather, only two of four scheduled games were played on Thursday.

Baseball game cancelled
April 25, 2010 Baseball game cancelled
Keene State tops Simpson
March 14, 2010 Keene State tops Simpson