Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

The Official Home of the Simpson College Storm

Cross country teams take home academic award

Cross country teams take home academic award

INDIANOLA, Iowa – The Simpson men's and women's cross country team were recently recognized for academic excellence by the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA), earning NCAA Division III All-Academic Team honors for the 2015 season.

To qualify, programs must compile a cumulative GPA of 3.10 or greater and compete in at least five different meets with at least five different runners representing their schools at each.

The women's team achieved a 3.581 GPA, easily surpassing the requirement to take home the honor for the ninth year in a row. Simpson has been recognized as an All-Academic Team 13 times.

The men's team posted a 3.218 GPA, making the grade for the eighth time. The Storm men had won the award seven years in a row before missing out in 2014.

A total of 207 women's teams and 151 men's teams throughout Division III were recognized.

Eleven members of the team - seven women and four men - were Iowa Conference all-Academic performers in the fall. Lauren Beckman, Erin Boggess, Mandy Brown, Rebecca Diemer, Breanna Gaster, Briana McCloskey, Sadie Timms, Salem Hildebrandt, Kyle Hovey, Andrew Mayes and Nick Yaeger all met the 3.5 cumulative GPA requirement for inclusion on the All-IIAC Academic Team.